Damaged files and Questions

Damaged Files

Unfortunately some of the clean files wouldn’t open on the computer I was using so I couldn’t really compare all of the undamaged files with those I damaged, but was able to see that the word file lost all of the diagrams when it was damaged.

The damage to the PDF file resembled the image damage more, with blocks of black and grey appearing over some of the diagrams.  The computer recognised there was damage to the file and warned me of this before I opened it.

Of the image files, the TIFF file seemed to suffer little damage when I ‘shot’ it, but when I corrupted it the image the damage really showed.  The Tiff file and the JPEG file, though very obviously damaged, would still have been readable, however the PNG and GIF files were completely undecipherable.

 

3 Questions

  1. On March 11, 1968, President Lyndon B. Johnson mandated that all computers purchased by the United States federal government do something. What was it?

A. March 11 – U.S. President Lyndon B. Johnson mandates that all computers purchased by the federal government support the ASCII character encoding.

 

Google search “march 11, 1968, president lyndon b. Johnson” – answer via http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1968_in_the_United_States  “1968 in the United States”

 

  1. The vigesimal system was memorably employed by a U.S. president when dedicating a cemetery. Which president, and what decimal value did he express in vigesimal notation?  Hint: in Old Norse, a notch on a stick used to tally values in vigesimal notation was called a “skor.”

A. Four score and seven years – Gettysburg Address

 

Google search: vigesimal – and found that it meant base 20 numeral system so knew it was the  Gettysburg Address – but hadn’t known it was a dedication ceremony for a cemetery!  – Looked Gettysburg Address up on Wikipedia to check the exact quote!

 

3.  freeformatter-output

A.  ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZabcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz0123456789+/

 

Wikipedia search on “base 64” which gave the answer.

 

I know I seem to have put my faith totally in Wikipedia, but I do really like Wikipedia!  I know that it can be unreliable but if I wasn’t sure I would check the facts via other sites.  For example once I knew the answer to the base 64 question via Wikipedia, I checked again via a few other sites and got the same result!

Leave a Reply

